Saturday , December 16 2017
Home / Costa Rica / Nicaragua Joins South American C Championship

Nicaragua Joins South American C Championship

History will be made in 2017 as Nicaragua joins the South American C Championship. The addition of the Central American Republic ensures that the competition will have four teams this year. Nicaragua joins Guatemala, Panama and, hosts, Costa Rica. El Salvador have dropped out of competing in the 2017 tournament.

Rugby in Nicaragua is at an all-time high. The country is preparing to host the 2017 Juegos Centroamericanos in Managua. The 2017 Central American Games are to be historic with rugby involved for the first time. Referee training has taken place in the country and now the country officially has a test side.

Nicaragua acquired associate status of Sudamérica Rugby in mid-2016. The year concluded with Nicaragua overcoming Guatemala u23 in a historic match. This year will see further history made as Nicaragua enters the test arena on August 27.

The 2017 South American C Championship will take place in Costa Rica. The competition will be played at Lice Franco Costarricense in the national capital of San José. Fixtures are due to be released shortly with Costa Rica, Guatemala, Nicaragua and Panama playing matches from August 27 – September 03.

The inclusion of Nicaragua leaves Belize and Honduras are the two countries in Central America yet to play in the South American C Championship. Efforts are underway in both countries, though Belize has told Americas Rugby North that it favors participating in Rugby Americas North competitions due to language.

About Americas Rugby News

Formally created in June 2015, this website’s goal is to increase media exposure of the Tier 2 rugby nations, and create a hub with a focus on the stories of rugby in the Americas – North, Central and South.

Check Also

Brazil Rugby wins national sports award

The Brazilian Rugby Confederation (CBRu) has won the prestigious Sou do Esporte Award for a ...