Friday , December 15 2017
Home / Brazil / South American A 2017 Championship Dates
photo credit: João Neto / FotoJump / CBRu

South American A 2017 Championship Dates

Dates for the 2017 South American A Championship have been announced. This year’s edition is to see Brazil, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay battling it out in a competition which doubles as Rugby World Cup 2019 qualification.

The winner of the Four Nation competition is to advance to play either Canada or the USA in the following round of qualifying. The winner of the North American two-match series will directly qualify for Japan 2019 while the loser is face the South American A Championship winner for the remaining slot from the Americas.

The South American A Championship will be played from May 06 to May 27. All four competitors are to have the opportunity of playing at home. Uruguay will have two home matches this year, taking-on Brazil on May 20 and Chile on May 27. Los Teros will do so after having opened their campaign on the road against Paraguay.

The first week of the competition will see Chile playing host to Brazil on May 06. It is to be the only match in the opening weekend. Similarly Paraguay’s home game against Uruguay will be a stand-alone fixture on the second weekend.

May 06 Chile vs Brazil
May 13 Paraguay vs Uruguay
May 20 Uruguay vs Brazil
May 20 Chile vs Paraguay
May 27 Uruguay vs Chile
May 27 Brazil vs Paraguay

About Americas Rugby News

Formally created in June 2015, this website’s goal is to increase media exposure of the Tier 2 rugby nations, and create a hub with a focus on the stories of rugby in the Americas – North, Central and South.

Check Also

Capó Ortega set to re-sign with Castres

Rodrigo Capó Ortega is set to continue his professional career for at least one more ...